An abandoned wife’s prayer


My God, who has forsaken
Me and my beloved daughters.
You, who empower leaders
And give palm trees wine,
Have chosen to forsake us.
Turning deaf ears to our prayers.

Oh! That I should sit and mourn
The loss of my dearly beloved man!
That I should sit, shrouded in sadness,
Like an old helpless woman
When I am but thirty summers!

Another has taken my beloved man.
Wanted sons she has borne
Him, whom you gave me, then.
And she has become his beloved.

Sent away, rejected and
Spurned for inability to bear sons,
I languish in this old abyss.
And I anger! I weep! I mourn!

Friends have become enemies.
My beloved has turned to my pain.
A wicked witch I am called.
An evil haggard
Shooed away like a rabid dog.

Warmth, an elixir my beloved withholds.
I am gone, to him; gone
Like I never existed;
Like we never loved;
Like I was sick and died!

Oh, my Chi! My God!
Were it that I can mould sons,
I will sculpt them in dozens!

Oh, my Chi! The unequalled god!
I implore you: smite me; end my days!
For this shame, this neglect, this pain,
I can no longer stand!

Or give me a son, oh God!
Make my beloved seek my bed,
To love me from dusk till dawn,
As we used to love in the old days,
Untill his virile man’s seeds
Take root and become son.

Oh God, destroy this abyss.
Bring an end to my shame; a glorious end!
Make my shame to become hers:
This usurper who has stolen my gain,
May she become the unwanted!

Brand her a thief, scorned.
Build her a secluded abyss
Far off in the evil forest, in the woods,
With sorrow for friend,
Regret for food.

About Egoyibo Okoro

Beautiful. Friendly. Opinionated. Feminist. Scholarly. Apolitical. Christian. Sometimes, I write in Engli-Igbo and/or pidgin English. Just so you know, I am naturally disgruntled about a lot of things, most especially gender inequality, human rights abuses, racism and corruption. #EndChildMarriage. #EndTerrorism. #EndPoverty. #EndRacism. #EndImperialism. The Igbo say, "egbe bere, ugo bere, nke si ibe ya ebena nku kwa ya" - Live and let live!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Non-fiction and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An abandoned wife’s prayer

Leave a Reply

