Jungle justice: remembering Aluu 4


A year ago, I stumbled upon the story of four Uniport students who were beaten to a pulp and then set ablaze in Aluu community in Rivers state, on Twitter.
I remember how some people supported and inadvertently promoted jungle justice because (in their opinion) our justice system has failed us.
I remember many who said, "yes, they deserve to die. They were cultists."
I remember attacking them for that hasty conclusion. I remember preaching, "things are not always as it seems."
I remember visiting the Twitter time line of one of the victims of that horrific barbarism nicknamed Aluu 4; Ugonna was much like every other young man from a middle-class home in Nigeria. He was good-looking and had that self-assurance known as "swag" and he wrote in slangs peppered with rap quotes. He reminded me, strongly, of my younger brother, Kosy, who was then 18 years old (a mere 2 years or so younger than him) and full of "swag". Kosy is popular, speaks in rap quotes, even sang a song with his equally "swaggalicious" friend, Ibra; and he was voted "best dressed" during his secondary school days.
I remember feeling so so sad and weeping bitterly as I watched the videos and photos of Ugonna and co’s lynching by idiots and criminals who took laws upon themselves, assumed the role of the almighty God and pronounced them for dead.
I remember weeping and cursing as I watched a middle-aged woman (probably someone’s mother. How sad for her unlucky children!) shout at one of the bloodied bodies (someone’s son) to die.
I remember how visions of the young men’s bloodied bodies and their frantic cries for mercy stayed with me for months (it still does!).
I remember downloading the podcast of the interview of the families of the deceased by BBC, and sighing in exasperation at the image those barbarians have painted about Nigeria: a Nation of bloodsucking murderers who behave like men from the Stone Age.
I remember warning my younger brother, over and over again until he and his friends cringed when they saw me, of the dangers of late "waka-about".
I remember vowing said younger brother will not study in Nigeria; our youth are just not safe.
I remember attacking many on Twitter and Facebook who dared voice that jungle justice is a defence employed by insecure communities.
I remember wishing I was the president of Nigeria or a commissioner or minister or something, then I will show the Aluu community what justice entails.
I remember retweeting the pictures of alleged attackers and murderers of those young men, so the police will have something to work on.
I remember, today, these young men: Tekana, Lloyd, Ugonna and Chidiaka who lost their lives, a year ago, to the societal menace called "jungle justice". May your souls rest in peace; amen!
Hang in there, dudes! Justice will be served. Either by our unquestionably flawed justice system or Nature/Fate/Karma will dish out its just deserts on your murderers.

About Egoyibo Okoro

Beautiful. Friendly. Opinionated. Feminist. Scholarly. Apolitical. Christian. Sometimes, I write in Engli-Igbo and/or pidgin English. Just so you know, I am naturally disgruntled about a lot of things, most especially gender inequality, human rights abuses, racism and corruption. #EndChildMarriage. #EndTerrorism. #EndPoverty. #EndRacism. #EndImperialism. The Igbo say, "egbe bere, ugo bere, nke si ibe ya ebena nku kwa ya" - Live and let live!
This entry was posted in Serious stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jungle justice: remembering Aluu 4

  1. egbuyugo says:

    What a sad story!the community is not entirely to blame.the failure of our justice system has lead to erosion of trust & people taking laws into their own hands.Farewell Aluu4

Leave a Reply

